7 Types of Poverty
7 Types of Poverty

7 Types of Poverty

Bhagavatula Charitable Trust (BCT), runs Innovative Experimental Primary Schools (IEP) in 72 Villages in Visakhapatnam District, Andhra Pradesh, India.

What is the difference between IEP and regular Government Schools?
IEP schools, apart from regular academics, work towards education children in the age group 11-15 on the 7 types of Poverty which are required to uplift the quality of life. Our usual assumption of Poverty is only Economic Poverty. However, this is just one of the kinds. We have to even look at the following types to ensure quality of life improved:

1. Economic Poverty
2. Bodily Poverty
3. Mental Poverty
4. Cultural Poverty
5. Spiritual Poverty
6. Political Poverty
7. Societal Poverty

Now, it makes more interesting to understand these aspects. Even though the above are talked about in the BCT Project homepage, I will write again here in my own words and understanding.

Economic Poverty – Lack of monitory demands for providing themselves with Food, Cloth and Shelter. Please note that money need for only the mentioned attributes falls under this category.

Bodily Poverty – Lack of property physical health and access to health living conditions.

Mental Poverty – Lack of thinking, which is resultant of lack of access to education and knowledge.

Cultural Poverty – Lack of coming together in a society. No collaborative activities taking place which leads to disconnect between people.

Spiritual Poverty – surprising right? Yes, lack of feeling of togetherness/brotherhood plays an important role in bringing people together.

Political Poverty – Lack of understanding of how system works. The basic problem is the understanding of how to cast one’s vote and elect their leader.

Societal Poverty – Lack of social connectivity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *